Blog

How To Block Someone On Viber

Online Safety

How To Block Someone On Viber

Viber is a widely-used communication app. It uses the Internet to allow users to communicate with one another through text messages, audio files, video clips, and image files and to share and receive media content. Viber is popular among users because it is free and simple to operate. Stickers, Group Chat, and Voice Calling are a few fun features of this app.

On Viber, blocking someone is a quick and simple process that only takes a few seconds to finish. You can block people in your contact list if you no longer want to speak with them, preventing them from calling, texting, or sending you any other message. 

What happens when you block a person on Viber?

Blocking the person is an effective method to end communication. If you are going to block another user on Viber, here are a few things to know:

  • The user will not be able to view any changes you made to the information in your profile or communicate with you.
  • The user will also be removed from any group chats in which you participate, and the user will not see whether you are online or not.
  • You cannot make a call or send a message to the contact if you block them.

Will the person you blocked know that they have been blocked?

No, The person you have blocked doesn’t know that they have been blocked because Viber doesn’t send any notification about it. But they can notice because they cannot view any changes on your profile; if they send you a message, the message will not show “Delivered” or “Seen.”

Methods to block someone on Viber

Here are some ways to block someone on Viber. 

How to Block Someone on Viber on Android

Use Viber Block List

  1. Open Viber.
  2. Click the More option in the bottom right corner.
  3. Click Settings
  4. Click to Privacy
  5. Scroll down to find the Block List.
  6. Click the “+” icon on the top right corner. 
  7. Now you can add any contact you want to block to the blocklist.

Use Chat screen

  1. Open Viber.
  2. Goto contact you want to block.
  3. Goto three-dot on the top-right corner.
  4. Go to Chat Info.
  5. Click to  Block this contact.

Block an Unknown Number on Viber

If you are receiving a message from an unknown number, the message appears at the top of your chat. You can see the following options:

  • Add to contacts
  • Block or report spam
  • Block

You can choose any option to block an unknown number. Viber will ban or permanently remove the account if you report the number as spam.

How to Block People on Viber on Windows

  • Open Viber on the desktop.
  • Goto three-dot on the top-left corner of the screen.
  • Go to Settings
  • Click on Privacy.
  • Click on Block List.
  • Click on the “+ “ sign on the top-right of the screen.
  •  Select the Contacts you want to block.

How to Block People on Viber on iPhone

  • Open Viber.
  • Click Chats.
  • Click the chat you want to block.
  • Go to Chat Info and Settings.
  • Tap Block this contact.

How to unblock a phone number

  • Open Viber.
  • Go to the More option.
  • Click Settings.
  • Click to privacy.
  • Go down to find the Block List.
  • Click Unblock. Now, you can unblock the contact you have blocked before.

Conclusion

In Conclusion, we have discussed some methods to block anyone that you find annoying or you want to end up a connection with on Viber. Once you block someone on Viber, they will no longer be able to connect with you or see your profile. If you ever want to unblock someone, you can follow the above-mentioned steps.

FAQS

  1. Why do I need to block any contact on Viber?

There are several reasons to block someone on Viber. You may be receiving unwanted messages or not want to hear from them. If you block someone on Viber, they can’t contact you or access your public information.

  1. What happens when I block people on Viber?

When you block people on Viber, they will no longer be able to see your online status, send messages, or call you.

  1. How to know if someone has blocked you on Viber?

Simply. Go to Chats, click the suspected contact, and audio/ video call them.  If the screen shows Calling instead of Ringing, then you are blocked

  1. Can Blocked contact see you online?

Yes, The contact you have blocked still sees your online status.